Girls win prizes for card designs

First published in

YOUNG artists have been congratulated for their winning designs after entering a competition to have their drawing used for Wychavon District Council’s official card.

Councillor Gerry O’Donnell, chairman of the council, invited local middle schools to take part in his Christmas card competition – and more than eighty children entered.

Coun O’Donnell said “I’m thrilled so many children entered the competition this year. It was a tough job selecting the winning cards but I’m very pleased with the result, which will be our official card this year.”

On the judging panel was Jack Hegarty, managing director of Wychavon, and coun O’Donnell.

The winners, both from St Nicholas Middle School in Pinvin, were Grace Plowman, who designed the chairman’s card with her depiction of the nativity scene and Millie Stanley, who designed Mr Hegarty’s card with a drawing of a very festive robin.

In joint second place were William Hansen from Westacre Middle School in Droitwich and Sam Cox from Simon de Montfort in Evesham, while third prize went to Martha Frapwell from Westacre Middle School in Droitwich.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree