TEENAGE Worcester St John's Cycling Club ace Ollie Morgan was crowned Midland junior 10-mile time trial champion.

The Pershore High School pupil raced in the Aerocoach Midland Championships near Hinckley among 88 riders of all ages.

Morgan, 17, clocked 22 minutes 34 seconds to go one step further after finishing second in last year's junior championships.

Riders experienced mainly dry conditions on the slow course.

Other Saints competitors Ed Dursley and Jason Tait recorded respectable times of 23.46 and 25.03 for 41st and 52nd places respectively with Morgan finishing 23rd male.

The men’s winner was Stuart Travis of Team Bottrill/HSS Hire and Liz Powell of Mike Vaughan Cycles took the women's title.

Meanwhile, Chris Pettifer demonstrated his improvement by claiming St John's James Handicap Cup from Dave Walker by just nine seconds on adjusted time.

Roz Townsend-Hope showed good form for third in the handicap and fastest woman on the night.

The quickest rider in the event from Hallow was Jason Milner in 24.04 as he won the Dinley Cup.

He was closely followed by first junior Morgan in 24.08.

Cameron Davidson pipped Dylan Perkins by five seconds for the under 16s race.

New riders Brad Faulks and Chris Baker came within one second of each other in respectable times for a first ride on the testing 10-mile circuit.