SOME of the county's unsung cricket heroes will be heading to the home of cricket after being recognised.

Local winners of the NatWest Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards (Oscas), across various categories, will go forward to Lords and represent Worcestershire in the national finals on October 14.

READ MORE: In the Classroom: What Christopher Whitehead Language College students really think about Brexit

Tom Hill, Worcestershire cricket board development director, said: “We want to say thank you to the many hundreds of volunteers who devote their time - without their contribution, cricket would simply not be played."

"Whether this is groundsmen, tea ladies, committee members or the person who helps out coaching occasionally, they make the game what it is today.

“Their collective efforts provide thousands of people across Worcestershire with opportunities to experience and benefit from our beautiful game.”

Among the 2019 Worcestershire winners are:

Proactive leadership in cricket – David Gower

Young volunteer (aged 19-25) - Tia Webb, Old Elizabethans CC

Heartbeat of The Club - Jim and Lynn Cook, Stourport CC

Lifetime Achiever – Ken Slater, Oldswinford and Stourbridge Social CC

ECBCA young coach of the year – Dan Green, Beacon CC

ECBCA Coach Of The Year – Phil Smith, Cookhill CC

READ MORE: 'Oscar days' have been backed by community to help save schoolboy's life

ECBCA Outstanding Achievement – Trevor Ridings, Pershore CC

North Worcestershire Tigger Award – Matt Wall, Himley CC

All Stars Cricket Centre Of The Year Award – Inkberrow CC

Women’s Soft Ball Cricket Team Of The Year Award – Martley Mandarins

School Of The Year Award – Caslon Community Primary School

Bill Jones Memorial Volunteer Of The Year – Ken Slater, Oldswinford and Stourbridge Social CC

All the county winners recently enjoyed a New Road lunch.