A by-election will take place in Evesham next month following a councillor’s resignation over claims of bullying.

Emma Nishigaki resigned from Evesham Town Council in December, stating in a letter to mayor Sue Amor that she felt had been “bullied, harassed, marginalised and excluded”.

Now, three candidates will compete for the vacant seat.

Here is all you need to know ahead of the election.


An election will be held to decide the new Evesham Town councillor for the Avon Ward following the resignation of Emma Nishigaki in December.


The polls will open on Thursday February 17, 2022, between the hours of 7am and 10pm.


There is one polling station, St Mary and St Egwin Church Hall, High Street, Evesham.


There are three candidates in the running for the vacant seat:

• Barmy Lord Brockman (Monster Raving Looney Party)

• John Clatworthy (Conservative and Unionist Party)

• Nigel Deacon (Independent)

Can I register to vote?

Yes, applications to register to vote must reach the Electoral Registration Officer by midnight on February 1.

This can be done online at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote.

What about postal votes?

Applications, amendments, or cancellations for postal votes must reach Electoral Registration Officer, at the Civic Centre in Pershore, by 5pm on February 2.

And proxy?

Applications to vote by proxy at this election must reach Electoral Registration Officer by 5pm on February 9.

Applications for emergency proxy will be open until 5pm on February 17.