Royal British Legion recognises youth achievement

Last Saturday, Pershore & District Branch, Royal British Legion, held its 89th Annual Dinner and Cadet Presentation Evening at The Oak Inn, Woodmancote, Defford. The Branch Chairman, Mr Simon Dudfield, opened the evening by reciting the tribute and the Kohima Epitaph, being followed by the Branch President, Lt. Col. Susan Payne TD, BSc saying Grace. There then followed a most excellent meal after which the Branch Secretary, Mr Gareth Jenkins, proposed the Loyal Toast. Following the Loyal Toast, the Branch Chairman thanked the committee for all their hard work and then gave the assembled guests a review of the Branch’s activities since the last Annual Dinner. Before Simon handed over to Wing Commander Philip Sagar RAF, Officer Commanding No 614 (County of Glamorgan) Squadron, Royal Auxiliary Air Force, the Branch Secretary thanked Mr Simon Dudfield for all his hard work as the Branch Chairman. Wing Commander Sagar talked about the 100th Anniversary of the formation on the world’s first independent air force, the Royal Air Force. Wing Commander Sagar then proposed 2 toasts, one to the Royal Air Force and the other to Pershore & District Branch, The Royal British Legion. This was followed by the main event of the evening, the presentation of awards to the cadets from the Sea Cadet Corps (Ordinary Cadet Bethany Cahill), Army Cadet Force (Cadet Meghann Williams), Air Training Corps (Cadet Warrant Officer James Rowberry), St John Ambulance (Cadet Kyle Pemberton) and the Scouting movement (Explorer Scout James Rowberry) – this was the second award that James received on the night – the first being The Adastral Shield for the Air Training Corps. The Branch President, Lieutenant Colonel Susan Payne, TD, BSc thanked the staff at The Oak for a superb meal and brilliant service and then closed the evening by announcing the proposed events for the coming year and thanking everyone for coming and wishing them a safe journey home.

Caption: Cadet Kyle Pemberton, Cadet Meghann Williams, Wing Commander Philip Sagar RAF, Ordinary Cadet Bethany Cahill & Cadet Warrant Officer James Rowberry