IT proved to be a memorable day for Pershore RFC on Sunday as they celebrated winning their first piece of silverware in 40 years at Worcester RFC.

Always the Bridesmaid and never the Bride, Pershore, dominated Old Yardleians from the outset to win 26-11 and lift the trophy. 

Yards were the first to strike in the final as they benefitted from a Pershore infringement but it was a swift response from the Piddle Park men as they hit straight back through a try from prop Damien May, before Ben Crouch's conversion put them into the lead.

A further penalty a piece put the score at 13-6 to Pershore going into half-time.

Pershore were again on top after the interval, with Stef Ellis and Will Humphreys looking dangerous in attack throughout, and the back row of Dan Mayfield, Greg Hitchcock and Jack Bacciocchi ferocious in defence.

Another Crouch penalty extended Pershore's lead to 16-6, before a prolonged period of pressure allowed Ellis to snipe in under the posts, Crouch again converting for 23-6 and Pershore has one hand on the trophy.

Pershore unloaded the bench after the hour with the experienced Martin Hope, Brian Ranns and Jameson Lane adding to the hard work of Josh Hardiman, Ben Sidney and Loran Abbotts and the combinations of AJ Hanson, Tommy Hayes and Todd Charlton at halfback steadying the ship.

Another Yards infringement allowed Crouch to cap a perfect afternoon off the tee for 26-6 and some valiant efforts in defence from youngsters Harry Dodds, Harry Westby, Stef Staveley and Reece Davis along with Takunda Kahwa, keeping Yards at bay to the delight of the vocal Pershore support and coach Stuart Brooks.

Yards managed a consolation score with the final play to reward their hard work throughout, but it was not enough to trouble the scoreboard as the ball was booted into touch top spark jubilant scenes.

All that was left to do at that stage was for skipper Luke Hardiman to lift the trophy in the glorious afternoon sunshine and start the celebrations.